Police Department History

The City of Rialto was incorporated November 17, 1911.

In 1927, the City Hall Building housed City Officials, the Police Department, the Fire Department, and the County Branch Library.

In 1939, the Police Department employed only two sworn officers.

In 1945, the Police Department employed four sworn officers, serviced five square miles, with a population of 3,000.

In 1973, the new Police Station was built. It was dedicated in November 20, 1973 in the name of Chief Sidney A. Jones.  The new police facility housed less than half of the Department's current personnel.

In 1976, the Police Department serviced sixteen square miles with a population of 32,000.

Today, the Department currently employs 150 total employees, 112 sworn and 38 non-sworn. The Police Department offers a variety of services and assignments to include field patrol, K-9, School Resource Officer (SRO), Street Crime Attack Team (SCAT), Investigations, Traffic, Narcotics, Training/Backgrounds, SWAT and Crisis Negotiations.


Bill Humphrey 1895


Fred Litka 1938-1945

In 1938, Fred Litka won the election for Rialto constable.  He had been appointed traffic officer in 1924 and became both police chief and traffic officer in 1926.  He was Rialto’s police chief for many years before becoming the San Bernardino County constable for Rialto.  A veteran of World War I, Fred died in 1990 at the age of 96.

Sidney A Jones 1945-1976

In 1936, Sidney A Jones joined the Rialto Police Department.  He was one of a three man force.  Sid also served as Rialto’s fire chief from 1937-1939.  At that time, fire chief was a volunteer job.  Sid worked his way up to become chief of police in 1945 and holds the record for the longest servicing police chief in Rialto’s history.  The current police station is named after Sidney A Jones and was dedicated on November 20, 1973.

Raymond Eugene “Ray” Farmer 1977-1992

In 1963, Ray Farmer joined the Rialto Police Department.  He became chief of police in 1977.  Ray retired in 1992.  Ray was also on the city council for four years and was appointed Mayor from 1998 to 2000.

James E Lewis 1993 – Interim

Dennis Hegwood 1993-1997

In 1993, Dennis Hegwood joined the Rialto Police Department.  He was the first African American chief of police in Rialto.  Dennis retired from the Rialto Police Department and became chief of police at Atascadero PD in 1997.

Michael Meyers 1998-2005

In 1978, Michael Meyers started his career in law enforcement.  He came from Oakland PD and was appointed Rialto’s chief of police on May 4th, 1998.  In February 2000, Michael founded the Inland Empire Chapter of the National Organization of Black Law Enforcement Executives (NOBLE).  In June, 2000, he was appointed to the California Attorney Generals Civil Rights Commission on Hate Crimes.  Michael retired in 2005.

Mark P Kling 2006-2011

In 1981 Mark P Kling began his career in law enforcement. He worked for Monterey Park PD until 1999, when left and joined Baldwin Park PD. He left Baldwin Park to become Rialto’s chief of police in 2006. In 2011, Mark also served as interim City Administrator until his retirement in December 2011.

William A Farrar 2011 – Present

Click Here to read more about Chief Farrar

Get News Updates

Subscribe to our newsletter to receive important updates and the latest news from The Rialto Police Benefit Association.

Follow Us On Facebook


Contact Information

Rialto Police Benefit Association
PO Box 816
Rialto, CA 92377

Email: Contact Us

Account Registration